Robins swoop for Elliott

Last Updated: Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:36
Birmingham%20City

Bristol City have completed the signing of Birmingham's Wade Elliott on a one-year deal.

The 35-year-old midfielder enjoyed a loan spell at Ashton Gate last season, making 19 appearances as City secured safety in Sky Bet League One and Steve Cotterill has moved to make the deal permanent.

Elliott, whose deal with Birmingham ends on July 1, has teamed up with Cotterill before when at Burnley in 2005.

The Robins boss said: "I've known Wade a long time. He's got so much experience and was invaluable to us last season. We looked a far better unit when he came into the midfield.

"He's so calm under pressure and helps the team get the ball from defence to attack. Add that to the fact that he's a fantastic lad and player, I feel he's a great addition to the squad.

"You've only got to see the top players currently involved at the World Cup - (Andrea) Pirlo, (Miroslav) Klose, (Steven) Gerrard, all of them are in their thirties. As long as you get the right player, they can be just as valuable as someone aged 22, 23 or 24.

"The way he rubbed off on the squad last year was there for all to see. We've got some good professionals in the group - Sam Baldock is another. The more you have of that sort, the better."



Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Wallace banned for Terriers

Fri, 19 Dec 2014 09:06

Gray offered new Birmingham deal

Tue, 16 Dec 2014 22:29

Blues agree permanent Morrison deal

Tue, 16 Dec 2014 14:18

Birmingham thrash Reading

Sat, 13 Dec 2014 16:58

Pannu resigns from Birmingham

Fri, 12 Dec 2014 13:52

Morrison admits Addicks frustration

Thu, 11 Dec 2014 16:04

Blues reject transfer ban claim

Mon, 08 Dec 2014 15:27

McMahon back for Blackpool

Fri, 05 Dec 2014 11:12

Zigic back with Blues

Thu, 04 Dec 2014 12:21

Blues maintain momentum

Sat, 29 Nov 2014 17:28
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010