Riga to take Blackpool job

Last Updated: Tue, 03 Jun 2014 18:53
Blackpool

Jose Riga has agreed a deal to become Blackpool's new manager, Press Association Sport understands.

The 56-year-old Belgian led Sky Bet Championship rivals Charlton to safety last season after replacing Chris Powell, but his short-term contract was not renewed by the Addicks and he has since been replaced by Bob Peeters.

The Seasiders also avoided relegation from the second tier last term and parted company with caretaker boss Barry Ferguson at the end of a campaign that saw them lose 21 of their last 30 games.

Riga indicated last month that he would be keen to take over at Bloomfield Road and after talks with chairman Karl Oyston, a one-year rolling contract is now thought to be in place and he should officially take charge this weekend.

It was reported that the Seasiders were close to appointing Brian Flynn last week.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Depleted Blackpool win friendly

Sat, 19 Jul 2014 16:58

Blades bag McGahey

Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:31

Oyston in bid to placate fans

Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:16

Oyston: Wheels are in motion

Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:06

Ince leaves Tangerines for Tigers

Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:11

Fans' group concern at 'shambles'

Sat, 05 Jul 2014 15:48

Zenjov ready for new challenge

Fri, 04 Jul 2014 11:15

Zenjov signs for Seasiders

Fri, 04 Jul 2014 09:46

Ince talking to Tigers

Tue, 01 Jul 2014 13:09

Cathcart makes Hornets move

Tue, 24 Jun 2014 11:24
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010