City no match for Brentford

Last Updated: Sat, 08 Mar 2014 17:45
Bradford%20City

Brentford kept up the pressure on the top two with a comfortable 2-0 home win over mid-table Bradford.

Second-half goals from Clayton Donaldson and George Saville clinched the points against a resolute but unadventurous City side.

Donaldson broke the deadlock on the hour-mark with a sizzling low drive that flew inside the near post from the edge of the box.

Chelsea loanee Saville made sure of the points with a side-footed effort from 12 yards that bobbled inside the upright.

Brentford dominated possession for long spells, but the Bantams' deep defensive line and some wayward finishing kept the scores level.

Will Grigg should have opened the scoring just after the break, but blasted Alan Judge's driven low cross wide.

Donaldson drifted a header from Adam Forshaw's free-kick just past the post and should have made it a brace when he somehow skied Marcello Trotta's near-post cross over the bar from close range.

Jonathan Douglas headed against the bar and Saville forced a point-blank save from City keeper Jon McLaughlin as Brentford piled on the second-half pressure.

City's only real effort of note came early in the second half when Adam Reach beat three defenders only to fire over the bar.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

McLaughlin moves to Burton

Wed, 23 Jul 2014 14:32

Bantams complete keeper loan deal

Mon, 21 Jul 2014 12:25

Meredith pens new Bantams deal

Mon, 07 Jul 2014 14:10

Clarke relishing Bantams switch

Sat, 28 Jun 2014 13:55

Parkinson hails versatile Sheehan

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 12:43

Preston take punt on Reid

Tue, 24 Jun 2014 14:25

Sheehan opts for Bantams move

Thu, 19 Jun 2014 16:20

Bantams start against Sky Blues

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:16

City head to seaside

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:05

Argyle land McHugh

Mon, 16 Jun 2014 15:39
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010