Parkinson purrs over McBurnie

Last Updated: Mon, 04 Nov 2013 17:59
Bradford%20City

Bradford boss Phil Parkinson has hinted young striker Oliver McBurnie could soon be getting more involvement with the senior squad.

McBurnie, who travelled with the Bantams' first team to Crewe on Saturday, has started the season in sensational form for the club's youth side, with 17 goals in 10 league and cup games.

The 17-year-old is actually a member of the club's professional ranks after signing a three-year deal back in August.

Parkinson told the club's official website: "Ollie McBurnie was with us in the squad for Saturday at Crewe.

"To get 17 goals for the youth team already - I have to start looking at trying to get him involved with the first-team squad and get him training with us on a more regular basis.

"That is the way to progress him. I feel he is a good prospect for us.

"We have players in the squad who haven't been playing for a while and it is probably best for them to move on to get some first-team football elsewhere.

"As a manager, you have to keep evolving the squad and keep moving forward, and that is what we are trying to do."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Parky praises Reach

Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:24

Reach checks Posh play-off push

Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:12

Mclean could miss Posh reunion

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:49

Parky pleased with point

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 09:31

Millers held by Bantams

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 21:47

Bantams extend Drury deal

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:17

Double doubt for Bantams

Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:33

We're not safe yet - Parkinson

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 18:59

Bantams wait on Hanson again

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 10:09

Parky rues missed chances

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 10:28