Reid our for season

Last Updated: Mon, 20 Jan 2014 18:45
Bradford%20City

Bradford have been dealt a crushing blow with the news that Kyel Reid will be out for the rest of the season.

The winger was stretchered off during the Bantams' 2-2 draw with Sheffield United at the weekend and a scan on Monday confirmed that the 26-year-old has torn his anterior cruciate ligament.

Reid will now undergo surgery and is expected to be missing for between six and eight months.

Bantams boss Phil Parkinson told the club's official website: "We are obviously devastated for Kyel.

"We unfortunately felt at the time that Kyel had done something serious and we were fearing the worse over the weekend.

"It is a blow to us all to lose the services of someone like Reidy but we will give him all the support and care he needs to get back playing as soon as possible."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Reach checks Posh play-off push

Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:12

Mclean could miss Posh reunion

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:49

Parky pleased with point

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 09:31

Millers held by Bantams

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 21:47

Bantams extend Drury deal

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:17

Double doubt for Bantams

Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:33

We're not safe yet - Parkinson

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 18:59

Bantams wait on Hanson again

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 10:09

Parky rues missed chances

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 10:28

Stalemate at Sixfields

Tue, 01 Apr 2014 21:40