Bees edge closer to promotion

Last Updated: Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:38
Brentford

Brentford tightened their grip on an automatic-promotion spot with a hard fought 1-0 win over relegation-threatened Crawley.

Jonathan Douglas headed the only goal of the game just before the hour, glancing Alan Judge's left-wing cross past the despairing hand of goalkeeper Paul Jones.

And with Rotherham losing at Sheffield United, the Londoners stretched their points advantage to nine over the Millers.

It was one-way traffic as the Bees laid siege to the visitors' goal against a resolute and well disciplined Crawley defence.

Clayton Donaldson could have put the hosts ahead inside three minutes, flashing a low drive across goal.

Judge volleyed inches wide and Alan McCormack stung the keeper's hands with a fizzing low drive as Brentford piled forward trying to break the deadlock.

After Douglas opened the scoring, Stuart Dallas almost made it two with a blistering drive brilliantly saved by the legs of keeper Jones.

Dallas might have eased the Griffin Park crowd's nerves in the dying minutes, which also saw Paul Connolly clash with a home supporter, but his low sidefooted drive from a Jake Bidwell cross was blocked on the line.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Bidwell extends Bees stay

Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:26

Bees hit back for win

Wed, 23 Jul 2014 10:33

Easy decision for Hogan

Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:47

Bees clinch Hogan deal

Mon, 21 Jul 2014 12:02

Grigg makes Dons move

Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:03

Pritchard joins Bees on loan

Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:02

New Bees deal hits right Button

Mon, 30 Jun 2014 12:11

Morris gets is reward

Sat, 28 Jun 2014 17:53

Dallas credits coaching team

Sat, 28 Jun 2014 12:36

Gray seals Bees switch

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 16:44
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010