Seagulls swoop for Lita

Last Updated: Wed, 16 Oct 2013 17:11
Brighton%20and%20Hove%20Albion

Brighton have signed striker Leroy Lita on loan from Swansea until the start of January.

The 28-year-old frontman has agreed a deal with the Sky Bet Championship club until January 1 and could make his debut against Yeovil on Saturday.

Brighton boss Oscar Garcia moved for Lita after top scorer Leonardo Ulloa was ruled out until December with a foot injury.

Garcia told the club's official website: "He is strong, fast, and direct and he has shown he can score goals in the Championship. He offers us something different going forward."

Lita has struggled to make an impact at the Liberty Stadium since joining from Middlesbrough in the summer of 2011.

He made 18 appearances in his first season, scoring two goals, but fell out of favour when Michael Laudrup took over and spent much of last term on loan at Birmingham and Sheffield Wednesday.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Saltor salvages point for Seagulls

Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:14

Seagulls hopeful on Upson

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:01

Mackail-Smith keen to return

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:00

Solly signs new Seagulls deal

Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:16

Albion back in play-off picture

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:13

Bruno boost for Brighton

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:53

Garcia revels in Seagulls win

Wed, 09 Apr 2014 11:44

Brighton hammer below-par Foxes

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:45

Ince worry for Seagulls

Mon, 07 Apr 2014 12:11

Honours even at Oakwell

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 17:46