Gillett strike sinks Gills

Last Updated: Sat, 01 Mar 2014 17:51
Bristol%20City

Simon Gillett produced a candidate for Bristol City's goal of the season with a brilliant 83rd-minute winner in a 2-1 victory over Gillingham at Ashton Gate.

With the visitors looking the more likely winners, the midfielder, on loan from Nottingham Forest, unleashed a spectacular 25-yard shot with his right foot that ripped into the top corner of the net.

Sam Baldock had broken the deadlock for the hosts after 27 minutes, chesting down a precise chip forward from Wade Elliott and hammering a sweetly struck right-footed volley past Stuart Nelson from 15 yards for his 18th goal of the season.

But Gillingham improved after the break and deservedly equalised in the 65th minute when Ade Akinfenwa headed back across goal from a right-wing corner and substitute Charlie Lee blasted home from close range.

City made a bright start, which saw Bobby Reid just fail to connect with a Baldock cut-back and Jay Emmanuel-Thomas fail by inches to slide in and convert Reid's cross.

Gillingham found it hard to create first-half chances. Their best effort was a low drive from Bradley Dack, comfortably saved by Frank Fielding.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

'Wait and see' on Agard

Thu, 31 Jul 2014 13:07

Fitness is main focus for Cotterill

Wed, 30 Jul 2014 12:11

Robins see off Zebras

Fri, 25 Jul 2014 10:05

Cotterill tells Bald truth

Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:55

City snub Baldock bid

Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:43

Double teenage swoop for Robins

Tue, 08 Jul 2014 12:04

Ayling completes Robins switch

Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:26

Cotterill impressed me - Wilbraham

Fri, 04 Jul 2014 10:16

Robins break new ground in Africa

Thu, 03 Jul 2014 11:39

Robins add Wilbraham

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 18:30
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010