O'Toole earns Pirates vital victory

Last Updated: Tue, 11 Feb 2014 21:54
Bristol%20Rovers

John-Joe O'Toole fired his 13th goal of the season to put Bristol Rovers on course for a precious 1-0 victory over rivals Cheltenham.

The powerful midfielder broke the deadlock in the 34th minute with a low shot from the edge of the box after a left-wing cross had cannoned off a Cheltenham defender.

Jamie Cureton might have put Cheltenham ahead against his old club in the eighth minutes when clear through the middle, but Steve Mildenhall advanced to make an important save.

Alan Gow went close for Rovers with a 25-yard shot that flashed inches wide, while Cheltenham's Sam Deering was denied by a last-ditch tackle from Tom Parkes in a close first half.

The visitors had the better of the second period. Mildenhall failed to hold a long range effort from Matt Richards and the rebound just eluded Terry Gornell.

Then a 20-yard drive from Rovers old boy Steve Elliott grazed the foot of a post as Rovers defended well to hold their advantage.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

O'Toole leaves Rovers

Fri, 30 May 2014 17:46

Wycombe confident over complaint

Tue, 27 May 2014 23:02

Wilson pens pro deal

Tue, 20 May 2014 11:25

Rovers receive positive news

Mon, 19 May 2014 13:18

Backroom staff leave Rovers

Tue, 13 May 2014 15:48

Rovers axe falls on Ward

Thu, 08 May 2014 12:06

Clarke targeting immediate return

Wed, 07 May 2014 13:55

Grecians close in on Richards

Wed, 07 May 2014 11:00

Rovers cut a dozen

Tue, 06 May 2014 18:09

Higgs: Changes are coming

Mon, 05 May 2014 13:56
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010