Home > Football > England > Division Two > Bury 

Flitcroft hails Shakers subs

Last Updated: Sat, 22 Feb 2014 18:36
Bury

Bury manager David Flitcroft insisted his tactics had worked perfectly after they beat AFC Wimbledon 1-0 courtesy of Danny Mayor's stoppage-time strike.

Mayor earned the win at the death after team-mate Jean-Louis Akpa-Akpro had already hit the crossbar as they eased their relegation worries further.

AFC Wimbledon had spurned plenty of chances to take lead with Danny Hylton the chief offender as he failed to find a way past Brian Jensen.

But after using all three of his substitutes to try and turn the game in Bury's favour, manager Flitcroft claimed his changes had give the Shakers the edge.

"I said to the players before that game and I keep saying to them that the way I operate is to use 14 players to win a football match," he said.

"I thought the subs that came on, such as Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro, stretched them with their pace, which forced them to drop and gave us space.

"They became disorganised when Jean-Louis came on and I think Clive Platt won every ball that went into him.

"Chris Sedgwick sat with a calm head and cool head and dominated the centre of the pitch. Yes we had three or four chances late on but you work for that during the 82 minutes that you have to graft.

"I thought the defence was incredible, really stuck to its task and it's another clean sheet. So I'm delighted.

"I think before that we just cancelled each other out. I think the shapes cancelled each other out."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Shakers snap up Etuhu

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 17:11

Shakers land O'Brien

Fri, 20 Jun 2014 09:38

Robins first up for Bury

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:29

Shakers face trip to Bolton in cup

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:10

Jalal joins Bury

Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:28

Hussey set for Shakers return

Fri, 30 May 2014 14:24

Lowe disappointed with treatment

Wed, 21 May 2014 11:21

Lowe back at Bury

Mon, 19 May 2014 16:45

Shaker Adams returns home

Fri, 16 May 2014 11:43

Flitcroft lauds departing Jensen

Sat, 03 May 2014 19:18
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010