Robson wants to bounce back

Last Updated: Wed, 14 May 2014 16:30
Carlisle%20United

Carlisle defender Matty Robson has targeted an immediate return to Sky Bet League One.

The Cumbrians released 11 players after relegation was confirmed by a last-day defeat at Wolves and Robson, under contract at Brunton Park until the summer of 2015, said the remaining players owe it to the club's fans.

"Walking over to the fans at Molineux was really difficult," the 29-year-old told the club's official website.

"You're always going to feel sorry that you've let them down because they spend some serious time and money following us up and down the country.

"The players appreciate that massively and it's tough to see the emotions. We all felt the same, but that's no consolation when they've just watched their side get relegated."

The former Hartlepool winger, converted into a left-back in recent seasons, added: "We want to prove that we do belong in League One. That bad feeling will go, but we shouldn't forget it.

"We know we need to put it right rather than just hope people will forgive us. We've got to be mentally strong and believe we can turn this round next season."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Curle: It's not good to talk

Wed, 01 Oct 2014 13:40

Late test for Sweeney

Fri, 26 Sep 2014 11:14

Curle to give players their chance

Mon, 22 Sep 2014 14:17

Stags fend off Carlisle comeback

Sat, 20 Sep 2014 17:53

Curle takes Carlisle reins

Fri, 19 Sep 2014 16:58

Lambe in Stags squad

Fri, 19 Sep 2014 11:30

White set for Carlisle stint

Thu, 18 Sep 2014 13:41

McDonald turns down Carlisle

Wed, 17 Sep 2014 16:31

Carlisle remain rooted to basement

Tue, 16 Sep 2014 22:26

Shrews sweat on Gayle and Robinson

Mon, 15 Sep 2014 18:17
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010