Ambrose hails team effort

Last Updated: Thu, 06 Feb 2014 13:40
Celtic

Efe Ambrose insists the entire Celtic squad should be receiving praise for Fraser Forster's record-breaking clean-sheet record.

The 1-0 win over St Mirren on Sunday was the 11th game in a row in which England stopper Forster was not beaten.

That tally bettered the club's previous record of 10 clean sheets set twice - first in season 1913/14 and then again eight years later, but Ambrose says the club's outfield players deserve their share of the credit too.

"The clean sheets are coming not just because of the defence but the whole team, from Fraser to the strikers, because we have been playing as a unit," he said.

"So this is down to the solid work of the team , the instructions the gaffer has been passing on to us and our style of play. I believe this is what has been helping the team so far.

"Fraser, Darnell (Fisher), Mika (Lustig), Adam (Matthews), Emilio (Izaguirre), Virgil (van Dijk), myself, the two midfielders, who are important to the defence, and the attackers - everyone deserves credit as it's a team thing, not just the defence.

"We also should give credit to the gaffer and the supporters as they have been solidly behind us."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Stokes happy with form

Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:05

Midfielder eyes Celtic move

Tue, 15 Apr 2014 12:22

Hoops ready new midfielder bid

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:59

Lennon expects star offers

Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:20

Midfielder loving Glasgow life

Wed, 09 Apr 2014 14:56

Brown confident of boss stay

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:19

Lennon rules out Canaries job

Mon, 07 Apr 2014 13:58

Hoops tipped for keeper bid

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 14:55

Midfielder eyes summer exit

Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:58

McCoist defends under-fire skipper

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 15:57