Clarke favourite for Celtic job

Last Updated: Tue, 03 Jun 2014 13:34
Celtic

Steve Clarke is now the frontrunner to be named Celtic's new boss after Roy Keane pulled out of the race to succeed Neil Lennon.

Republic of Ireland assistant manager Keane was thought to be close to being handed the job but surprisingly asked the Scottish champions not to consider his candidacy on Monday.

That now leaves Clarke, 50, as the bookies' odds-on favourite, although there is competition from former Cardiff boss Malky Mackay and Owen Coyle, who has not worked since being axed by Wigan last year.

Ex-Chelsea defender Clarke, a boyhood Celtic fan, was put on gardening leave by West Brom last December after the Baggies won just three of their opening 16 games.

He was officially relieved of his duties five months later, despite having led the club to eighth place in the Barclays Premier League in his first season in charge.

The Hawthorns post had been his first as a manager in his own right having worked as a number two at Newcastle, Chelsea, West Ham and Liverpool.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Deila unhappy despite win

Mon, 24 Nov 2014 04:28

Saints join striker race

Thu, 20 Nov 2014 14:21

French eye Guidetti swoop

Wed, 19 Nov 2014 07:06

Lustig worry for Hoops

Mon, 17 Nov 2014 12:43

Stokes issues goal quit gag

Fri, 14 Nov 2014 16:44

Van Dijk urged to stay put

Thu, 13 Nov 2014 15:07

Deila challenges Hoops stars

Wed, 12 Nov 2014 08:17

Gunners target Hoops star

Tue, 11 Nov 2014 05:47

Palace linked with Brown

Mon, 10 Nov 2014 13:37

Hoops launch Tonev appeal

Thu, 06 Nov 2014 03:30
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010