Clarke favourite for Celtic job

Last Updated: Tue, 03 Jun 2014 13:34
Celtic

Steve Clarke is now the frontrunner to be named Celtic's new boss after Roy Keane pulled out of the race to succeed Neil Lennon.

Republic of Ireland assistant manager Keane was thought to be close to being handed the job but surprisingly asked the Scottish champions not to consider his candidacy on Monday.

That now leaves Clarke, 50, as the bookies' odds-on favourite, although there is competition from former Cardiff boss Malky Mackay and Owen Coyle, who has not worked since being axed by Wigan last year.

Ex-Chelsea defender Clarke, a boyhood Celtic fan, was put on gardening leave by West Brom last December after the Baggies won just three of their opening 16 games.

He was officially relieved of his duties five months later, despite having led the club to eighth place in the Barclays Premier League in his first season in charge.

The Hawthorns post had been his first as a manager in his own right having worked as a number two at Newcastle, Chelsea, West Ham and Liverpool.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Deila takes Salzburg positives

Fri, 19 Sep 2014 14:41

Tonev fine to face Salzburg

Thu, 18 Sep 2014 13:41

Tonev faces SFA probe

Tue, 16 Sep 2014 16:46

Hoops showed quality - Commons

Mon, 15 Sep 2014 16:46

Deila expects Aberdeen test

Fri, 12 Sep 2014 14:42

Deila hails double capture

Thu, 11 Sep 2014 15:48

Gunners target urged to leave Celtic

Wed, 10 Sep 2014 11:03

Guidetti snubbed big guns for Celtic

Tue, 09 Sep 2014 15:05

Hoops sweat on Guidetti

Mon, 08 Sep 2014 16:03

Guidetti waiting on Celtic switch

Thu, 04 Sep 2014 14:00
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010