Leeds end Cooper interest

Last Updated: Thu, 31 Jul 2014 18:55
Chesterfield

Leeds boss David Hockaday has described the club's attempts to sign Chesterfield defender Liam Cooper as "dead in the water".

Last season's Sky Bet League Two champions this week rejected two bids from the Elland Road club for the promising centre-half.

Leeds are reported to have offered in the region of B£500,000 but the Spireites value the 22-year-old former Hull trainee nearer the B£1million mark.

Hockaday feels that is too much money and he has turned his attentions elsewhere.

Asked why any potential deal broke down, he told BBC Radio Leeds: "Finances. I'd done my homework on the player and we felt it was too much.

"He impressed us when we played against Chesterfield last weekend. He did well against us and he is a good player and a good prospect.

"Every player has his price and they want too much for him so we've walked away from it and we will pursue other targets."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Doyle on Rams radar

Fri, 23 Jan 2015 16:21

Rams boss to ring changes

Fri, 23 Jan 2015 11:16

Six-week layoff for Roberts

Thu, 22 Jan 2015 15:39

Boco India move annoys Turner

Tue, 20 Jan 2015 11:08

Spireites wait on Roberts injury

Mon, 19 Jan 2015 13:06

Swift pulls strings for Robins

Sat, 17 Jan 2015 17:14

Hylton passed fit for Robins

Fri, 16 Jan 2015 11:50

Spireites up for Cup - Richardson

Wed, 14 Jan 2015 15:18

Rams tie off limits for Spireites

Tue, 13 Jan 2015 23:31

Evatt could boost Spireites

Mon, 12 Jan 2015 14:21
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010