Leeds end Cooper interest

Last Updated: Thu, 31 Jul 2014 18:55
Chesterfield

Leeds boss David Hockaday has described the club's attempts to sign Chesterfield defender Liam Cooper as "dead in the water".

Last season's Sky Bet League Two champions this week rejected two bids from the Elland Road club for the promising centre-half.

Leeds are reported to have offered in the region of B£500,000 but the Spireites value the 22-year-old former Hull trainee nearer the B£1million mark.

Hockaday feels that is too much money and he has turned his attentions elsewhere.

Asked why any potential deal broke down, he told BBC Radio Leeds: "Finances. I'd done my homework on the player and we felt it was too much.

"He impressed us when we played against Chesterfield last weekend. He did well against us and he is a good player and a good prospect.

"Every player has his price and they want too much for him so we've walked away from it and we will pursue other targets."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Gnanduillet back at Spireites

Mon, 17 Nov 2014 14:25

Roberts crowded out by Crewe

Sat, 15 Nov 2014 18:11

Haber blow for Crewe

Fri, 14 Nov 2014 08:34

Gobern back at Hudderfield

Thu, 13 Nov 2014 13:21

Dev dismay at Cup exit

Sun, 09 Nov 2014 18:04

Spireites hit six

Sun, 09 Nov 2014 17:10

Devonshire set to make changes

Sat, 08 Nov 2014 12:26

Spireites reject investment

Wed, 05 Nov 2014 16:39

Margreitter blow for Spireites

Tue, 04 Nov 2014 11:09

Johnson boys lay solid foundations

Sat, 01 Nov 2014 18:31
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010