Sears kickstarts U's revival

Last Updated: Sat, 08 Mar 2014 17:49
Colchester%20United

Colchester ended a run of six games without a win with a 2-1 triumph over Coventry.

Colchester took a fourth-minute lead when former Coventry loanee Freddie Sears latched on to a pass into the area and confidently slotted past goalkeeper Joe Murphy.

The U's went further ahead midway through the first half when Gavin Massey got on the end of David Wright's long pass and finished low past Murphy.

Colchester goalkeeper Sam Walker did well to push away Chuba Akpom's fine low shot at his near post.

The Sky Blues got back into the game on the stroke of half-time when Callum Wilson somehow squeezed a superb low shot past Walker and into the far bottom corner.

Coventry pressed for an equaliser in the second half, with Jordan Clarke's low shot saved to his right by Walker just after the hour-mark.

Wilson should have equalised when he fired a tame effort at Walker and the striker also fired just wide deep in stoppage time.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Donny display delights Dickov

Sat, 23 Aug 2014 18:40

Bennett bags points for Rovers

Sat, 23 Aug 2014 17:57

Duo set for Colchester recalls

Fri, 22 Aug 2014 09:30

Notts notch first victory

Tue, 19 Aug 2014 22:15

Derry registers himself

Mon, 18 Aug 2014 16:11

Addicks ease past 10-man Colchester

Tue, 12 Aug 2014 22:02

Peeters to rotate Addicks squad

Mon, 11 Aug 2014 17:00

Forte double but U's clinch point

Sat, 09 Aug 2014 18:24

U's without Olufemi

Fri, 08 Aug 2014 08:35

Moncur joins U's until January

Thu, 07 Aug 2014 16:58
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010