Goal-shy Crewe set for Pogba boost

Last Updated: Wed, 30 Oct 2013 16:23
Crewe%20Alexandra

Crewe manager Steve Davis has been handed a welcome boost with the news that star striker Mathias Pogba is set to return to training.

Pogba, who netted 15 league goals for the Alex last season, sustained a knee injury in a pre-season friendly against a Manchester United XI and has not featured this term.

The 23-year-old was expected to be out for a lengthy period, but has been given the all-clear to start running again and could return ahead of schedule.

Pogba's return would lift a Crewe side that has only managed 12 goals in 14 games, the lowest tally in Sky Bet League One.

"We'll just have to assess how he recovers after running, but it is looking really positive with him and every manager would like to have his better players available as much as possible," Davis told the club's official website.



Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Aneke dismissal spurs Wolves

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:16

Skipper Osman an Alex doubt

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 11:10

Davis hails Inman

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 19:58

Alex still missing trio

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 11:11

Waters signs Crewe deal

Thu, 03 Apr 2014 14:22

Turton pens new Crewe deal

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 11:19

Cooper pens Alex deal

Tue, 01 Apr 2014 13:30

Davis still looking on bright side

Sat, 29 Mar 2014 18:42

Wilson double downs Alex

Sat, 29 Mar 2014 17:53

Grant back for Crewe

Fri, 28 Mar 2014 11:13