Paynter attracts Crewe interest

Last Updated: Wed, 06 Nov 2013 12:29
Crewe%20Alexandra

Doncaster striker Billy Paynter is a loan target for Sky Bet League One club Crewe.

Paynter has not started a game for Rovers this season, with all of his seven appearances for Paul Dickov's team coming from the bench.

And Alex boss Steve Davis has earmarked the 29-year-old as an option to end his side's goal drought.

"I'd like to get a striker in," Davis told the Crewe Chronicle. "If we are going to spend some money, that's the right area.

"He doesn't have to be great at linking the play - just be on the end of things.

"Paynter has a great record, he's experienced and scored two for Doncaster against us last year.

"He wouldn't chase down the channels but we won't need him to, we'd need him to get on the end of the crosses and he has the expertise to tuck them away.

"Our forwards haven't been able to do it on a regular basis and it is a concern."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Clayton could return for Crewe

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:39

Aneke dismissal spurs Wolves

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:16

Skipper Osman an Alex doubt

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 11:10

Davis hails Inman

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 19:58

Alex still missing trio

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 11:11

Waters signs Crewe deal

Thu, 03 Apr 2014 14:22

Turton pens new Crewe deal

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 11:19

Cooper pens Alex deal

Tue, 01 Apr 2014 13:30

Davis still looking on bright side

Sat, 29 Mar 2014 18:42

Wilson double downs Alex

Sat, 29 Mar 2014 17:53