Rams' O'Brien heads north

Last Updated: Fri, 15 Aug 2014 15:29
Derby%20County

Derby defender Mark O'Brien has joined Scottish Premiership side Motherwell on loan until January.

The 21-year-old academy product has found his first-team chances restricted due to the form of Richard Keogh, Jake Buxton and Zak Whitbread.

Successive knee injuries also forced O'Brien to miss large chunks of last season as well as the majority of this summer too.

To date, O'Brien has made 35 senior appearances for the Rams.

"It is important Mark gets out and plays some first-team football and going to Motherwell will allow him to do that," Rams head coach Steve McClaren told the official club website.

"He has been incredibly patient waiting in the wings behind our other central defenders and it will benefit him going out and playing matches again."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

McCormack doubt for Bees

Fri, 31 Oct 2014 13:41

Coutts delighted with Rams comeback

Wed, 29 Oct 2014 12:41

Derby claim stunning comeback win

Tue, 28 Oct 2014 21:55

Rodallega set to miss out

Mon, 27 Oct 2014 13:49

McClaren: We had an off day

Sat, 25 Oct 2014 18:33

Dawkins set for Derby return

Fri, 24 Oct 2014 11:06

Dawkins edges closer to Rams return

Wed, 22 Oct 2014 17:19

Martin winner sends Derby top

Tue, 21 Oct 2014 22:09

Martin helps Rams raid Blackpool

Tue, 21 Oct 2014 21:59

Butland joins Derby

Mon, 20 Oct 2014 16:37
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010