Rams' O'Brien heads north

Last Updated: Fri, 15 Aug 2014 15:29
Derby%20County

Derby defender Mark O'Brien has joined Scottish Premiership side Motherwell on loan until January.

The 21-year-old academy product has found his first-team chances restricted due to the form of Richard Keogh, Jake Buxton and Zak Whitbread.

Successive knee injuries also forced O'Brien to miss large chunks of last season as well as the majority of this summer too.

To date, O'Brien has made 35 senior appearances for the Rams.

"It is important Mark gets out and plays some first-team football and going to Motherwell will allow him to do that," Rams head coach Steve McClaren told the official club website.

"He has been incredibly patient waiting in the wings behind our other central defenders and it will benefit him going out and playing matches again."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Bennett blow for Rams

Mon, 24 Nov 2014 15:53

Keeper poser for Rams

Mon, 24 Nov 2014 11:42

Rams maintain momentum

Sat, 22 Nov 2014 17:13

Abdi available for Hornets

Fri, 21 Nov 2014 08:58

Rams return for Taylor

Wed, 19 Nov 2014 16:29

Butland extends Derby loan deal

Tue, 18 Nov 2014 13:37

Thorne relishing Rams return

Mon, 17 Nov 2014 10:41

Grant on way back for Rams

Thu, 13 Nov 2014 10:46

Russell called up

Sun, 09 Nov 2014 23:12

McClaren grateful to rampant Rams

Sat, 08 Nov 2014 15:34
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010