Rams' O'Brien heads north

Last Updated: Fri, 15 Aug 2014 15:29
Derby%20County

Derby defender Mark O'Brien has joined Scottish Premiership side Motherwell on loan until January.

The 21-year-old academy product has found his first-team chances restricted due to the form of Richard Keogh, Jake Buxton and Zak Whitbread.

Successive knee injuries also forced O'Brien to miss large chunks of last season as well as the majority of this summer too.

To date, O'Brien has made 35 senior appearances for the Rams.

"It is important Mark gets out and plays some first-team football and going to Motherwell will allow him to do that," Rams head coach Steve McClaren told the official club website.

"He has been incredibly patient waiting in the wings behind our other central defenders and it will benefit him going out and playing matches again."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Buxton back for Rams

Fri, 19 Sep 2014 09:46

McClaren relieved after win

Wed, 17 Sep 2014 22:48

Ward brace sets up Derby win

Wed, 17 Sep 2014 21:46

Rovers without Dunn for Derby

Tue, 16 Sep 2014 14:16

Ward boost for Rams

Mon, 15 Sep 2014 12:16

McClaren happy to make a point

Sun, 14 Sep 2014 16:52

McClaren admits to Wembley hangover

Sat, 13 Sep 2014 22:42

Forest in rude health

Fri, 12 Sep 2014 11:39

Martin extends Rams stay

Thu, 11 Sep 2014 14:28

Rams optimistic on Hendrick

Wed, 10 Sep 2014 11:23
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010