Tisdale happy with point

Last Updated: Sun, 16 Mar 2014 18:26
Exeter%20City

Exeter boss Paul Tisdale was content with his side after their 1-1 draw at Newport.

The Grecians took the lead thanks to a Harry Worley own goal, but Newport levelled a minute later through midfielder Lee Minshull.

A draw was a fair result in a game that lacked cutting-edge chances. However, a late spell of Exeter pressure could have seen the men from Devon snatch all three points.

Tisdale said: "We've won a hard fought point. We're disappointed that we conceded a goal immediately after our opener but I'm pleased with how my players applied themselves.

"We finished the game strongly and that is pleasing. Every point is vital in this league and there were certainly some excellent performances from our players out there.

"We were over-anxious and over-eager for their equalising goal. We gave a soft free-kick away after being too eager to challenge for possession and then we defended too deep for the goal.

"Sometimes you have to calm down and make sensible decisions."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

More social media woe for Coles

Wed, 23 Jul 2014 11:15

All square in Fluminese friendly

Sun, 20 Jul 2014 17:33

Bennett lands Grecians captaincy

Wed, 16 Jul 2014 10:36

City place Coles on transfer list

Tue, 08 Jul 2014 18:27

Former Grecian O'Flynn moves home

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 11:53

New deal for Davies

Mon, 30 Jun 2014 17:42

Krysiak joins Glovers

Mon, 30 Jun 2014 14:13

New sponsor for cash-strapped City

Mon, 23 Jun 2014 11:40

Coles 'ashamed' of Twitter comments

Sat, 21 Jun 2014 11:17

Exeter probe Coles Twitter row

Fri, 20 Jun 2014 13:50
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010