Cooper delighted by Pools response

Last Updated: Sat, 01 Mar 2014 18:16
Hartlepool%20United

Hartlepool boss Colin Cooper says the 3-0 win over Torquay was the response he wanted after losing meekly to Northampton last week.

Jack Barmby's classy finish in the 31st minute and Luke James' neat header were capped off by Marlon Harewood's first goal for the club - and they remain in contention for the play-offs.

"We wanted a response after losing at Northampton and, despite the results, this wasn't easy," Cooper said. "I've seen Torquay play and they might be bottom of the league, but they will still try and play football.

"Our three goals are really nice finishes - Jack Barmby's was very crisp. Luke James from a set-piece from a clever run in case the corner was scuffed, and it was pretty much scuffed.

"But he gets a flick on to get it across goal and, with Torquay not putting a man on the posts, it goes in through a crowd.

"And the last one, as soon as he was clear Marlon was always going to score, I was sure of it going in when he was one-on-one and that's the extra quality Marlon has."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Pools in first pre-season defeat

Thu, 24 Jul 2014 10:37

Franks has set marker - Cooper

Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:50

Pools youngsters impress Cooper

Thu, 17 Jul 2014 12:27

Pears picked by Pools

Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:30

Poole ends Hartlepool stay

Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:40

Cooper grateful for board's support

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 16:46

Pools sign Parnaby

Thu, 26 Jun 2014 14:49

Bates arrival pleases Pools boss

Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:33

Pools bag Bates

Tue, 24 Jun 2014 15:43

Sweeney toddles off

Fri, 20 Jun 2014 14:15
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010