Monkhouse suffers hamstring injury

Last Updated: Wed, 19 Mar 2014 12:31
Hartlepool%20United

Hartlepool winger Andy Monkhouse will be sidelined for at least a month due to a torn hamstring.

The 33-year-old sustained a grade two tear during the first half of Saturday's home win against Bristol Rovers and could be out of action for up to six weeks.

"It's disappointing news because Andy has played a lot of games for us this season in a few different positions as well," manager Colin Cooper told the club's official website.

"The positive is that Jack Compton came off the bench and had an impact in the game against Bristol Rovers and he looked bright.

"It's up to Jack now to try and finish the season in the kind of form he started it, and if he can do that then we will all benefit.

"It presents an opportunity for someone, if not Jack then one of the other players who think they can have an impact in that position."

Compton is expected to start his first game since mid-January at Oxford on Friday night.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Pools in first pre-season defeat

Thu, 24 Jul 2014 10:37

Franks has set marker - Cooper

Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:50

Pools youngsters impress Cooper

Thu, 17 Jul 2014 12:27

Pears picked by Pools

Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:30

Poole ends Hartlepool stay

Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:40

Cooper grateful for board's support

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 16:46

Pools sign Parnaby

Thu, 26 Jun 2014 14:49

Bates arrival pleases Pools boss

Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:33

Pools bag Bates

Tue, 24 Jun 2014 15:43

Sweeney toddles off

Fri, 20 Jun 2014 14:15
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010