Mings set for Town extension

Last Updated: Tue, 02 Sep 2014 13:16
Ipswich%20Town

Ipswich are to offer Tyrone Mings a new contract after rejecting a deadline-day bid from Crystal Palace for the defender.

Town say they knocked back a "substantial" offer for the 21-year-old, who boss Mick McCarthy sees as a key player at Portman Road.

"We have discussed the possibility - rather the certainty, I should say - of giving Tyrone a new contract and that will be the case," McCarthy told the club's official website.

"That is the reward for getting in the team and doing well.

"Neither (owner) Marcus Evans nor I wanted him to go. We want him here for the long term.

"I want to keep my best players. I want to keep the young, exciting players and Ty is one of them."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Henderson blow for Addicks

Fri, 28 Nov 2014 10:16

St Ledger pens short-term Town deal

Thu, 27 Nov 2014 13:42

Hunt's move to Ipswich confirmed

Thu, 27 Nov 2014 12:34

Ipswich look at St Ledger

Tue, 25 Nov 2014 14:55

Great feeling for Bishop

Mon, 24 Nov 2014 14:30

Murphy earns a point for Ipswich

Sat, 22 Nov 2014 17:23

As you were for Cherries

Fri, 21 Nov 2014 08:54

Injured Williams back with Eagles

Thu, 20 Nov 2014 16:22

McCarthy relishing keeping dilemma

Mon, 17 Nov 2014 14:13

McCarthy staying grounded

Sat, 15 Nov 2014 13:10
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010