Taylor next in for Millers

Last Updated: Thu, 14 Aug 2014 18:18
Ipswich%20Town

Rotherham have made Paul Taylor from Ipswich their 13th summer signing.

The Championship newcomers have signed the 26-year-old striker on loan until January and he goes straight into the squad to play Wolves at the weekend.

Taylor, who has been told he has no future at Ipswich, turned down other Championship clubs to move to New York Stadium.

Boss Steve Evans said: "I only heard last night that Paul was in talks with two fellow Championship clubs in relation to joining them on a long-term loan.

"I quickly spoke to my chairman and within minutes our chief executive spoke with Marcus Evans at Ipswich. Within an hour I was given permission to talk with the player as a financial arrangement had been agreed with both clubs.

"After talking to the player it became very evident to me that he had a preference to join Rotherham United.

"In turn I asked the player to sleep on his options and I was delighted to receive a call first thing this morning to say the player still wanted to be a Miller."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

As you were for Cherries

Fri, 21 Nov 2014 08:54

Injured Williams back with Eagles

Thu, 20 Nov 2014 16:22

McCarthy relishing keeping dilemma

Mon, 17 Nov 2014 14:13

McCarthy staying grounded

Sat, 15 Nov 2014 13:10

Hewitt back at U's

Thu, 13 Nov 2014 15:00

More injury woe for Williams

Mon, 10 Nov 2014 14:59

Tractor Boys edge out Hornets

Sat, 08 Nov 2014 17:19

Hornets pair doubtful

Fri, 07 Nov 2014 09:44

Murphy magic boosts Ipswich

Tue, 04 Nov 2014 21:56

Five out for Town

Mon, 03 Nov 2014 16:52
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010