Leeds land Butland

Last Updated: Thu, 20 Feb 2014 16:25
Leeds%20United

Leeds have signed Stoke goalkeeper Jack Butland on loan until the end of the season.

United boss Brian McDermott has moved into the emergency loan window with first-choice stopper Paddy Kenny struggling with an ankle injury.

The 35-year-old, who has not missed a game this season, was rated as doubtful for Saturday's lunchtime game at Middlesbrough, with Butland now likely to deputise.

McDermott told the club's official website: "We're delighted to agree a deal to secure the services of Jack until the end of the season.

"Obviously he has high ambitions. He has already been involved in the England squad and I know he is very much looking forward to coming in and being part of the group we have here."

Butland, 20, has found opportunities limited at Stoke since linking up with the Barclays Premier League club last summer.

The England international was loaned to Barnsley in the first half of the season before getting an opportunity at the Britannia Stadium last month in the absence of Asmir Begovic and Thomas Sorensen.





Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Double injury blow for Whites

Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:08

Hockaday keeping his options open

Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:06

Walters looking to step up at Leeds

Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:12

Hock happy with Leeds win

Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:20

Cook stars in Leeds win

Sun, 20 Jul 2014 11:21

Leeds snap up Swiss star

Sat, 19 Jul 2014 10:47

Cellino reveals Leeds interest

Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:35

Leeds rule out Rossini

Mon, 14 Jul 2014 10:19

Leeds play Leeds after oppo no-show

Sun, 13 Jul 2014 17:38

New arrivals at Leeds

Sun, 13 Jul 2014 08:40
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010