Boro boss states case for defence

Last Updated: Fri, 15 Aug 2014 15:49
Middlesbrough

Aitor Karanka is determined to build his Middlesbrough team on solid defence.

The Spaniard is confident the players he has at his disposal will score goals, but his aim is to ally that with a miserly approach at the back to lay the foundations for success.

Karanka told the Northern Echo: "The defence is very important because, in Spain, we say you have to build a house from the floor.

"The most important thing to win games is not to be conceding goals. If you have a squad with players with quality, you are always going to score goals.

"With the players we have here, I know we can score, so if you don't concede many goals either, you should be successful."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Bamford eyes Boro loan extension

Thu, 27 Nov 2014 10:32

Karanka hails Boro supporters

Tue, 25 Nov 2014 16:01

Mackay touched by Wigan welcome

Sat, 22 Nov 2014 18:53

Ledesma makes Millers move

Sat, 22 Nov 2014 14:04

Mackay set for Wigan bow

Fri, 21 Nov 2014 08:58

Tomlin happy with rotation policy

Thu, 20 Nov 2014 11:13

Gibson injured on England duty

Tue, 18 Nov 2014 14:05

Adomah pens Boro extension

Wed, 12 Nov 2014 08:36

Honours even at the Riverside

Sat, 08 Nov 2014 17:03

Top two set for crunch clash

Fri, 07 Nov 2014 09:26
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010