Given: Boro prepared for top-flight

Last Updated: Thu, 20 Feb 2014 16:12
Middlesbrough

Goalkeeper Shay Given has backed Middlesbrough to return to the Barclays Premier League one day.

The 37-year-old former Republic of Ireland international will return to parent club Aston Villa after Saturday's Sky Bet Championship clash with Leeds convinced the Teesside club has the wherewithal to return to the top flight.

He told Boro's official website: "It's a club that is geared up for the Premier League.

"Recently, we have had too many draws and that's cost us, but we have seen it before where teams put a run together and there's nothing to say this club can't get back where I think it belongs."

Given has thoroughly enjoyed his three months back in the north-east, where he had previously played for both Sunderland and Newcastle, and admits he would have stayed until the end of the season if he had the choice.

He said: "I'm gutted I have to go back, I've enjoyed it so much here. I'd have loved to have stayed here for the remainder of the season and help the lads. I've enjoyed every minute of it here."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Kike on target again

Sat, 26 Jul 2014 18:21

Kike makes Boro switch

Tue, 15 Jul 2014 10:53

Kike set for Boro switch

Fri, 11 Jul 2014 14:16

Mejias seals permanent deal

Fri, 04 Jul 2014 12:56

Brobbel set for Boro stay

Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:41

Karanka wants Omeruo return

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 17:45

Boro sign England youth star

Thu, 26 Jun 2014 10:27

Boro host Villarreal

Wed, 25 Jun 2014 10:17

Blues first for Boro

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:12

Boro land Latics

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:08
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010