Karanka counting on Abella

Last Updated: Fri, 15 Aug 2014 15:47
Middlesbrough

Middlesbrough boss Aitor Karanka is hopeful of being able to include Damia Abella in his team at Leeds on Saturday.

The 32-year-old Spaniard has been at the club's Rockliffe Park training headquarters for much of this week as he attempts to tie up a deal after being released by Osasuna.

Karanka is confident matters will be concluded on Friday in order for Abella to line up in the Sky Bet Championship at Elland Road, and is already turning his attention to formalising a season-long loan deal for Chelsea striker Patrick Bamford.

He told the Northern Echo: "Damia's signing should be done in time for Saturday, and if everything is done, I think he will have his chance.

"I would like to do a couple of changes again. The deal is practically done, it is just the last details we are going through now.

"Bamford is one of the names we are working on. The club knows the players who I want, and they are working on bringing them on their way."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Bamford eyes Boro loan extension

Thu, 27 Nov 2014 10:32

Karanka hails Boro supporters

Tue, 25 Nov 2014 16:01

Mackay touched by Wigan welcome

Sat, 22 Nov 2014 18:53

Ledesma makes Millers move

Sat, 22 Nov 2014 14:04

Mackay set for Wigan bow

Fri, 21 Nov 2014 08:58

Tomlin happy with rotation policy

Thu, 20 Nov 2014 11:13

Gibson injured on England duty

Tue, 18 Nov 2014 14:05

Adomah pens Boro extension

Wed, 12 Nov 2014 08:36

Honours even at the Riverside

Sat, 08 Nov 2014 17:03

Top two set for crunch clash

Fri, 07 Nov 2014 09:26
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010