Stanley loss hurts Bentley

Last Updated: Wed, 19 Mar 2014 10:13
Morecambe

Morecambe manager Jim Bentley was incensed after his side's 5-1 defeat to derby rivals Accrington.

The Shrimps arrived at the Crown Ground looking up towards the play-off places but Bentley admits the result on Tuesday night now has them looking over their shoulders at the sides below them.

"I am very disappointed. We were second best in every department and I am not going to make excuses - it was unacceptable," said Bentley.

"Our Achilles heel has been defending from set pieces and we have conceded two goals from corners at Accrington.

"I feel sorry for the fans but no one is hurting more than me - it was embarrassing and we have got to put it right.

"If we had won at Accrington we would have been two points off the play-offs but now we are suddenly worried about getting dragged back into the pack and, if we turn in many more performances like that, we will be.

"We need a centre-half and we need to work on set-pieces - even if it's 10 hours a day! I won't put up with performances like that."

Goals from Lee Molyneux and Kal Naismith sent Stanley into half-time in control before further strikes by Dean Winnard and Tom Aldred put the game beyond doubt with just 65 minutes on the clock.

Substitute Padraig Amond replied for Morecambe but Molyneux made it 5-1 with his second goal of the night in injury time.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Bentley joy at Wilson return

Wed, 16 Jul 2014 12:19

Good move for Morecambe

Tue, 15 Jul 2014 12:30

Drum sticks with Shrimps

Mon, 14 Jul 2014 18:26

Diagne goes from Shrimps to Imps

Tue, 01 Jul 2014 10:54

Shrimps start at Daggers

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:35

Home comforts for Shrimps in cup

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:25

Doyle delight for Bentley

Sun, 15 Jun 2014 14:47

Quartet sign Shrimps deals

Tue, 20 May 2014 11:22

Shrimps show four the door

Wed, 07 May 2014 11:16

McGhee suffers ligament damage

Tue, 06 May 2014 10:34
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010