Cobblers close the gap on Gulls

Last Updated: Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:03
Northampton%20Town

Northampton striker Emile Sinclair's double earned Chris Wilder's side a vital 2-1 win which closed the gap on second-bottom Torquay to three points.

Sinclair fired Town ahead in the 10th minute following a lightning fast counter attack in which Torquay striker Billy Bodin was injured as he teed up a strike at the visitors' goal from 20 yards.

Northampton broke from their own defensive lines at speed through the right channel with Sinclair clinically beating Gulls goalkeeper Michael Poke with an angled drive.

Sinclair doubled his tally in the 16th minute with an even better finish from an acute angle on the right.

Torquay substitute Jordan Chapell made a notable difference after replacing Bodin in the 21st minute and he forced Town keeper Matt Duke to turn a goal-bound 25 yard drive around the post five minutes before the break.

Chappell then took the corner from the left that central defender Krystian Pearce turned in at the near post with a superb side-foot volley.

Fellow central defender Anthony O'Connor hit the post with successive shots as Torquay pressed unsuccessfully for a second-half leveller.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

There's still work to do - Wilder

Sun, 27 Jul 2014 12:54

Cobblers held by Alloa

Fri, 18 Jul 2014 09:38

Cobblers borrow Alfei

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 11:42

Horwood heads to Town

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 10:56

Town land O'Toole

Mon, 30 Jun 2014 17:46

Cobblers welcome Stags first up

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:10

Wolves lie in wait in cup

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:29

Loan deal for Mohamed

Thu, 12 Jun 2014 14:22

Moyo makes Cobblers move

Mon, 02 Jun 2014 16:45

Defender to leave Cobblers

Wed, 21 May 2014 13:21
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010