Disappointed Wilder still believes

Last Updated: Wed, 19 Mar 2014 12:13
Northampton%20Town

Northampton manager Chris Wilder admitted his side were not good enough in their 3-0 home defeat to 10-man Rochdale.

Wilder's side went into the match boasting a six-game unbeaten run but were no match for promotion-chasing Dale.

Former Cobbler Ian Henderson opened the scoring before laying on the third goal for Joe Bunney.

Matthew Lund was given his marching orders for over-celebrating after he doubled Rochdale's advantage in the second half.

"We weren't good enough, we're big enough to admit that," said Wilder, whose side remain three points from safety.

"It's three points lost and thankfully no more because of a poor performance.

"We've made some big strides since we've been here but we've taken a backward step. Hopefully, it's a one-off because we can't let that happen over the next few games.

"We're not happy as a staff with that performance and the players should feel the same. But it's no use me slaughtering the players, now it's up to them to go again at Morecambe on Saturday.

"I always knew it was going to be a tough challenge when I came here but I still believe we will get out of trouble."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Cobblers held by Alloa

Fri, 18 Jul 2014 09:38

Cobblers borrow Alfei

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 11:42

Horwood heads to Town

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 10:56

Town land O'Toole

Mon, 30 Jun 2014 17:46

Cobblers welcome Stags first up

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:10

Wolves lie in wait in cup

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:29

Loan deal for Mohamed

Thu, 12 Jun 2014 14:22

Moyo makes Cobblers move

Mon, 02 Jun 2014 16:45

Defender to leave Cobblers

Wed, 21 May 2014 13:21

Toney awarded new Cobblers deal

Tue, 20 May 2014 14:44
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010