Sky Blues ramp up striker interest

Last Updated: Mon, 16 Jun 2014 16:15
Norwich%20City

Norwich City have competition from at least three other Championship clubs for Coventry City's highly-rated striker Callum Wilson.

Bournemouth have already had two bids rejected for the 22-year-old as they look to replace Lewis Grabban who joined the Canaries earlier this month.

Reading and newly-promoted Brentford are also tracking Wilson, while Wolves reportedly made an enquiry about the striker in the January transfer window.

However, Coventry want to hang onto their prized asset who struck 22 goals in 41 games during a prolific first full season in league football.

"At the moment our view is that Callum is not for sale," Sky Blues' development director Steve Waggott told the Coventry Evening Telegraph.

"We have had approaches from four Championship clubs who are keen to secure the services of one of the best young strikers around.

"As it stands we have rebuffed and rejected all offers that have come in. We've had what I would call four firm enquiries all together, comprising two written bids, one quite firm verbal offer and one indicative enquiry where they have said they are interested. They are all Championship clubs, which is to be expected to be honest."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Tettey worry for Canaries

Fri, 21 Nov 2014 08:56

Phelan back in football with City

Thu, 20 Nov 2014 10:27

Norwich warn fans over homophobia

Wed, 19 Nov 2014 21:17

Van Wolfswinkel reveals hurt

Tue, 18 Nov 2014 16:57

Robson leaves Canaries

Mon, 10 Nov 2014 11:25

Assombalonga back for Reds

Fri, 07 Nov 2014 09:52

Odjidja-Ofoe avoids surgery

Thu, 06 Nov 2014 12:07

Karanka not getting carried away

Tue, 04 Nov 2014 22:42

Blistering Boro crush Canaries

Tue, 04 Nov 2014 21:48

Adomah to boost Boro

Mon, 03 Nov 2014 16:16
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010