Lanzoni loss leaves Latics light

Last Updated: Tue, 31 Dec 2013 12:07
Oldham%20Athletic

Oldham will have to do without Matteo Lanzoni against Shrewsbury at Boundary Park.

The popular centre-back is now out of contract and while Latics boss Lee Johnson wants to keep him, he revealed that others had shown an interest in the Italian, who was forced off in the last game due to a hamstring injury anyway.

With Lanzoni out of the picture for the foreseeable future at least, James Tarkowski will, as he did against Coventry on Sunday, probably drop back into the middle of defence after being utilised in midfield of late.

Striker Danny Philliskirk (knee ligaments) is nearing a return but the prize of playing at Anfield next Sunday looks a more likely comeback date for him while Charlie MacDonald (thigh), James Wesolowski (head) and James Dayton (ankle) are expected to be missing again.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Byrom boost for Latics

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:56

Bug poses Johnson questions

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 10:19

Latics give Bees run for money

Sat, 29 Mar 2014 17:33

Johnson's watching Korey

Fri, 28 Mar 2014 09:59

Oxley back at Tigers

Thu, 27 Mar 2014 17:34

Belezika departs Latics

Thu, 27 Mar 2014 11:11

Latics were excellent - Johnson

Wed, 26 Mar 2014 11:49

Smith stuns Orient

Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:17

Byrom missing for Latics

Mon, 24 Mar 2014 12:57

Johnson: We were comfortable

Sat, 22 Mar 2014 18:54