Oxford beaten by Southend

Last Updated: Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:07
Oxford%20United

Southend United ended their longest ever run without a win by beating Oxford United 3-0 at Roots Hall tonight.

Phil Brown's side had gone 13 games without tasting victory.

But they roared back to winning ways against the U's thanks to an outstanding display from on loan Norwich City striker Jamar Loza who made it a miserable first game in charge for new Oxford manager Gary Waddock.

Loza helped to create Southend's first goal for Will Atkinson in the ninth minute and, with 17 minutes on the clock, he was brought down by U's goalkeeper Ryan Clarke before Lee Barnard fired home the penalty.

The effort was Barnard's first in almost a year but Oxford then came close to scoring when James Constable volleyed over from close range and Sean Rigg had a header cleared off the line by Kevan Hurst.

In reply, Clarke did superbly well to keep out efforts from Hurst, John Egan and Ryan Leonard before Loza completed the scoring with a fine individual effort four minutes from time.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Riley moves to U's

Mon, 28 Jul 2014 11:19

Long switches Blades for U's

Fri, 25 Jul 2014 12:50

Kitson hangs up his boots

Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:13

U's boost backroom staff

Mon, 21 Jul 2014 13:24

Collins raring to go

Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:09

Collins signs for U's

Tue, 15 Jul 2014 14:19

New faces high on Appleton's agenda

Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:22

Appleton eager to add to U's squad

Mon, 07 Jul 2014 16:09

Appleton replaces Waddock at Oxford

Fri, 04 Jul 2014 15:12

Burton test for U's

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:14
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010