Awford halts recruitment drive

Last Updated: Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:50
Portsmouth

Portsmouth manager Andy Awford said he is unlikely to add any more players to his squad this summer after completing nine signings.

The south-coast club have drafted in Nigel Atangana, Michael Drennan, James Dunne, Danny Hollands, Paul Jones, Rhys McCabe, Michael Poke, Miles Storey and Alex Wynter since the end of last season.

"We are not actively pursuing anyone," Awford told The News. "I don't feel there is an immediate need to bring anyone else in.

"I'm quite happy to start the season with what we've got."

He added: "We have dossiers on players, but in terms of bringing anyone else in at the moment, I'm ok.

"That is unless one pops up who will really improve us.

"If there is room in the budget to bring one or two in, then we will do it but only if it will improve us."



Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Whatmough boost for Pompey

Fri, 31 Oct 2014 09:11

Fixture change for Pompey

Thu, 30 Oct 2014 15:02

Mellon pleased with battling Shrews

Sat, 25 Oct 2014 18:56

Mellon to stick with same side

Fri, 24 Oct 2014 11:43

Night to remember for Devera

Tue, 21 Oct 2014 22:29

Dunne back for Pompey

Mon, 20 Oct 2014 16:23

That was destructive - Flitcroft

Sat, 18 Oct 2014 18:42

Shakers cruise past Pompey

Sat, 18 Oct 2014 17:22

Flitcroft wants Bury response

Fri, 17 Oct 2014 10:56

Chorley return on hold

Tue, 14 Oct 2014 12:29
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010