Hinshelwood makes Pompey return

Last Updated: Mon, 20 Jan 2014 14:42
Portsmouth

Martin Hinshelwood has returned to Portsmouth as chief scout.

The 60-year-old has left his role at Crawley, where he worked alongside current Pompey boss Richie Barker and director of football Steve Coppell.

He told the club website: "I really enjoyed working with both him and Steve, doing all the player and match reports. It was a bit of a shock when they left.

"So I was pleased to get the chance to come here and work with them again. I didn't have to think about it when they asked me.

"I watched games at first team, reserve team and under-21 level to get a dossier of players who are available that we might want to sign in the future.

"There's nothing like that here currently, so we're now starting from scratch. We need to build up a network of scouts, so we can have a lot of games covered."

Hinshelwood was previously at Pompey as reserve and youth-team coach under Jim Smith.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Awford hails Pompey after vital win

Tue, 22 Apr 2014 11:14

Pompey keep Cobblers in drop zone

Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:08

Captain to make Pompey return?

Sun, 20 Apr 2014 15:43

Swashbuckling Pompey down Pirates

Sat, 19 Apr 2014 17:41

Chorley back for Pompey

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:08

Ferry docked for rest of season

Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:57

Awford delighted with 'big step'

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:50

Drennan at the double for Pompey

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 17:48

Pompey to monitor Fogden

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:46

Whatmough extends Pompey stay

Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:49