Home > Football > England > Championship > Reading 

Pearce wins red card appeal

Last Updated: Tue, 11 Feb 2014 17:17
Reading

Reading defender Alex Pearce's red card against Sheffield Wednesday has been rescinded by the Football Association.

The Royals appealed against the decision to give Pearce his marching orders in the ninth minute of Saturday's 2-0 defeat.

Pearce gave away a penalty when he tripped Benik Afobe in the area but Reading claimed he was not the last man and that Kaspars Gorkss was covering his fellow centre-half.

And an FA statement read: "Following an Independent Regulatory Commission hearing today (Tuesday), Reading's claim of wrongful dismissal regarding Alex Pearce was upheld.

"Pearce was dismissed for denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity during the game against Sheffield Wednesday on February 8, 2014. His one-match suspension has, therefore, been withdrawn with immediate effect."

The decision means Pearce will now be available for Sunday's trip to QPR.



Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Royals reveal Thai tie-up

Fri, 01 Aug 2014 09:45

Injury blow for Robson-Kanu

Wed, 30 Jul 2014 10:34

Royals fitness pleases Adkins

Sun, 27 Jul 2014 11:36

Russian rules for Royals

Sat, 26 Jul 2014 18:17

Karacan honoured by captaincy

Thu, 24 Jul 2014 17:40

Karacan named Royals skipper

Sun, 20 Jul 2014 12:49

Pog on target for Royals

Sat, 19 Jul 2014 17:21

No number for Drenthe

Mon, 14 Jul 2014 13:24

Tshibola pens new deal

Fri, 20 Jun 2014 16:32

Royals on the road in opener

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:05
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010