Millers survive Pools scare

Last Updated: Tue, 12 Nov 2013 21:03
Rotherham%20United

Rotherham ground out a place in the last four of the Northern Area of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy with a 2-1 win at Hartlepool.

Pools went into the game on the back of four successive home wins and dominated this one, missing a host of chances to take the game to penalties.

The Millers took the lead after eight minutes, Tom Eaves firmly planting a header home from Kieran Agard's corner for his first goal for the club.

The rest of the half was one-way traffic, but all Pools had to show for their effort was Andy Monkhouse's 24th-minute leveller - the former Miller rolling his finish across keeper Adam Collin.

Collin then saved from James Poole, Luke James and Monkhouse as the Pools were dominant.

But, after 44 minutes, the Millers regained the lead. The ball was rolled into the path of Agard and his shot was covered by keeper Scott Flinders, only for a big deflection to wrong-foot the keeper.

Pools didn't dominate the second half like the first, although they went close to a leveller at the death.

In four minutes of injury time Jack Baldwin headed against the bar after Collin had denied Neil Austin, then Antony Sweeney hooked over from close range.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Vuckic has big part to play - Evans

Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:59

Evans backs free-scoring Millers

Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:14

Evans bemused by draw

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 09:27

Millers held by Bantams

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 21:45

Frecklington could return

Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:24

Evans critical of top-flight refs

Thu, 10 Apr 2014 12:29

Evans slams referee Dean

Wed, 09 Apr 2014 10:30

Late penalty downs Millers

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:37

Millers wait on Frecklington

Mon, 07 Apr 2014 12:58

Millers eye long-awaited Gills win

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 11:56