Godden blow for Iron

Last Updated: Mon, 30 Dec 2013 15:57
Scunthorpe%20United

Scunthorpe striker Matt Godden will be sidelined for up to six weeks due to the ankle ligament injury that ruled him out of Sunday's win at Oxford.

The 22-year-old has been restricted to five appearances for the Iron this season, but would have started against Oxford in place of the suspended Sam Winnall had it not been for this latest setback.

"Matty is going to be out a few weeks with that," boss Russ Wilcox told the club's official website.

"It's not a good injury and it's very swollen around his ankle. We think it's ligaments. He's had an x-ray and there's no break in there, which is great news."

Godden recently returned from a loan spell with Dartford, where he scored five goals in nine appearances.

Wilcox added: "It's probably going to be four to six weeks. It's a bit blow for Matty.

"It's not quite happened so far for Matty Godden at this football club for whatever reason.

"He would have had his chance (on Sunday). I would have definitely started him up front with Deon.

"He's lost that opportunity, but hopefully we can get him back as soon as we possibly can."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Wilcox bullish despite late setback

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 19:31

Rose strikes late to deny Iron

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:20

McAllister blow for Iron

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:07

Wilcox: Team takes credit

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 15:38

Winnall lengthens Iron run

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 18:14

McShreffrey out for Iron

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 08:57

Collins recalled by Iron

Thu, 03 Apr 2014 12:26

McSheffrey blow for Iron

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 14:26

Syers hails Iron defence

Tue, 01 Apr 2014 14:55

Wilcox makes history in stalemate

Sat, 29 Mar 2014 17:45