Iron duo could return

Last Updated: Wed, 13 Nov 2013 15:14
Scunthorpe%20United

Scunthorpe defenders Eddie Nolan and Niall Canavan could help ease the club's injury woes by returning to contention this weekend.

Full-back Nolan has been sidelined for seven matches due to a hamstring injury, while central defender Canavan has missed the last two games with an ankle problem.

"Both of them are training," manager Brian Laws told the club's official website.

"We had a practice game on Tuesday morning and both were involved in that. There's been good improvement there.

"It gives me options to pick from come the end of the week."

Club captain Michael Collins made his first appearance since August in last weekend's goalless FA Cup draw at Grimsby and is hoping to be involved against Accrington on Saturday.

"Mickie has come through," Laws added. "The pleasing thing is that Mickie has had no recurrence or reaction or anything like that."

But fellow midfielder Matt Sparrow's return to action following a hamstring injury was shortlived at Grimsby when he was withdrawn just five minutes after replacing Etienne Esajas.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Wilcox baffled by added time

Fri, 18 Apr 2014 18:33

More of the same for Scunny

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:16

Wilcox bullish despite late setback

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 19:31

Rose strikes late to deny Iron

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:20

McAllister blow for Iron

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:07

Wilcox: Team takes credit

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 15:38

Winnall lengthens Iron run

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 18:14

McShreffrey out for Iron

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 08:57

Collins recalled by Iron

Thu, 03 Apr 2014 12:26

McSheffrey blow for Iron

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 14:26