Iron duo in fitness battle

Last Updated: Mon, 28 Oct 2013 17:28
Scunthorpe%20United

Scunthorpe midfield pair Matt Sparrow and David Syers are hoping to shake off injuries in time to face York.

Sparrow missed the weekend win over Hartlepool due to an ankle problem sustained the previous week at Fleetwood but could return to the squad, while Syers picked up a knock late in the game on Saturday.

Striker Chris Iwelumo is expected to recover in time after turning his ankle against Hartlepool while midfielder Sean McAllister played the full 90 minutes at the weekend after overcoming a similar injury.

Midfielder Michael Collins is closing in on a return to action following knee ligament damage, defender Eddie Nolan (hamstring) and winger Andy Welsh (knee) remain sidelined.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Wilcox bullish despite late setback

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 19:31

Rose strikes late to deny Iron

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:20

McAllister blow for Iron

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:07

Wilcox: Team takes credit

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 15:38

Winnall lengthens Iron run

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 18:14

McShreffrey out for Iron

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 08:57

Collins recalled by Iron

Thu, 03 Apr 2014 12:26

McSheffrey blow for Iron

Wed, 02 Apr 2014 14:26

Syers hails Iron defence

Tue, 01 Apr 2014 14:55

Wilcox makes history in stalemate

Sat, 29 Mar 2014 17:45