Wilcox lands Iron job

Last Updated: Tue, 24 Dec 2013 14:37
Scunthorpe%20United

Scunthorpe caretaker manager Russ Wilcox has been rewarded for a fine spell in temporary charge by being handed the reins on a permanent basis.

Wilcox took control at the Sky Bet League Two club in November after Brian Laws was sacked and has led the Iron to four wins and a draw from his five games in charge, taking them into the automatic promotion places.

The 49-year-old, who was Laws' assistant at Glanford Park, has been given a 12-month rolling deal and will continue to be assisted by Tony Daws.

Chairman Peter Swann told the club's official website: "I am delighted to announce Russ Wilcox as manager on a 12-month rolling contract.

"It has become quite obvious over the five games in charge that Russ has taken this opportunity with both hands, not only bringing the players together, but being rewarded for that with five great results.

"It would be prudent for us to have a period of time before the January transfer window, to sit down and chat about players and that is better done with him as permanent manager.

"We all know that we cannot keep winning games and both Russ and myself understand that we have a long way to go, but I could not see beyond him at this moment in time and it makes a lot of sense."



Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

No new worries for Wilcox

Sun, 20 Apr 2014 17:34

Wilcox baffled by added time

Fri, 18 Apr 2014 18:33

More of the same for Scunny

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:16

Wilcox bullish despite late setback

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 19:31

Rose strikes late to deny Iron

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:20

McAllister blow for Iron

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:07

Wilcox: Team takes credit

Tue, 08 Apr 2014 15:38

Winnall lengthens Iron run

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 18:14

McShreffrey out for Iron

Fri, 04 Apr 2014 08:57

Collins recalled by Iron

Thu, 03 Apr 2014 12:26