Saddlers and Robins share points

Last Updated: Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:46
Swindon%20Town

Big striker Michael Smith snatched a point for Swindon with a second-half goal to deny Walsall victory in a 1-1 draw at the Banks's Stadium.

Smith headed his third goal in two games from Darren Ward's cross following a 71st minute corner.

The Saddlers had to settle for extending their unbeaten run to seven games after dominating much of the play, but lacked a killer touch.

Swindon were first to get a shot on target in the 19th minute when Alex Pritchard cut inside and tested goalkeeper Richard O'Donnell with a low drive. But Walsall took the lead with a superb goal in the 37th minute.

O'Donnell's clearance was flicked on by James Chambers and Romaine Sawyers dummied the ball. Craig Westcarr then played it through for Sawyers to drive home his seventh goal of the season.

Swindon improved in the second half and deserved their equaliser, then hung on against mounting pressure as first Malvind Benning shot just wide then substitute Ashley Hemmings clipped the crossbar for the Saddlers in the closing stages.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Robins in Troy talks

Wed, 23 Apr 2014 12:07

Cooper forward planning

Mon, 21 Apr 2014 18:27

Robins stay in hunt

Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:29

Late test for Smith

Sun, 20 Apr 2014 14:17

Smith wins it for Robins

Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:46

Yaser a no for Robins

Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:08

Thompson enjoys some brotherly love

Mon, 14 Apr 2014 12:36

Cooper still chasing sixth spot

Sat, 12 Apr 2014 19:38

Hall back for Robins

Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:46

We'd have won with Madine - Cooper

Sat, 05 Apr 2014 19:16