Cobblers close the gap on Gulls

Last Updated: Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:00
Torquay%20United

Northampton striker Emile Sinclair's double earned Chris Wilder's side a vital 2-1 win which closed the gap on second-bottom Torquay to three points.

Sinclair fired Town ahead in the 10th minute following a lightning fast counter attack in which Torquay striker Billy Bodin was injured as he teed up a strike at the visitors' goal from 20 yards.

Northampton broke from their own defensive lines at speed through the right channel with Sinclair clinically beating Gulls goalkeeper Michael Poke with an angled drive.

Sinclair doubled his tally in the 16th minute with an even better finish from an acute angle on the right.

Torquay substitute Jordan Chapell made a notable difference after replacing Bodin in the 21st minute and he forced Town keeper Matt Duke to turn a goal-bound 25 yard drive around the post five minutes before the break.

Chappell then took the corner from the left that central defender Krystian Pearce turned in at the near post with a superb side-foot volley.

Fellow central defender Anthony O'Connor hit the post with successive shots as Torquay pressed unsuccessfully for a second-half leveller.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Gulls turn down bids for pair

Thu, 22 May 2014 14:51

Six offered Gulls stay

Wed, 14 May 2014 12:49

Stevens leaves Gulls

Wed, 14 May 2014 11:05

Hargreaves wants flying start

Mon, 12 May 2014 15:15

Young Gulls offered deals

Thu, 08 May 2014 15:34

Nicholson leaves Plainmoor

Wed, 07 May 2014 14:33

Six Gulls up for sale

Tue, 06 May 2014 14:39

Gulls sign off with defeat

Sat, 03 May 2014 17:29

Bodin out for Gulls

Fri, 02 May 2014 08:49

Bristow to back Boss

Tue, 29 Apr 2014 10:52
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010