Rovers and Latics finish all square

Last Updated: Sat, 01 Mar 2014 17:49
Tranmere%20Rovers

Ryan Lowe's 18th goal of the season rescued a point for gutsy Tranmere as they drew 2-2 at home to Oldham.

Lowe headed home with 14 minutes remaining after Jake Cassidy had flung in a perfect cross from the right.

Both sides scored a goal apiece during a first half which Oldham dominated.

The visitors went in front after 12 minutes when Australian midfielder James Wesolowski thumped home his fourth goal of the season from 18 yards following a neat one-two with Gary Harkins.

Harkins almost doubled the lead while Danny Philliskirk also went close before Rovers bagged a fortunate equaliser on the half-hour mark.

Lowe teed up Jason Koumas and his low driven shot from the edge of the penalty area struck Jonathan Grounds' foot and looped over unlucky Oldham goalkeeper Mark Oxley.

The visitors restored their lead with their own lucky strike after 59 minutes. This time David Worrall crossed in low and when the ball was not cleared it struck the shin of Tranmere defender Liam Ridehalgh before trickling past 'keeper Owain Fon Williams.

However, it was not the winner as Lowe rescued the home side 17 minutes later.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Rovers hold Toffees

Wed, 23 Jul 2014 12:50

Ridehalgh concern for Rovers

Sun, 20 Jul 2014 11:36

Laird delighted with Rovers deal

Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:48

Laird becomes latest Rovers signing

Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:52

Horwood and Tranmere part ways

Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:56

Edwards pleased with duo

Mon, 30 Jun 2014 13:37

Rovers seal Holness deal

Fri, 27 Jun 2014 15:29

Odejayi joins Rovers

Thu, 26 Jun 2014 16:07

Rovers snap up Ihiekwe

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 15:09

Home start important - Edwards

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 11:16
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010