Home > Football > England > Championship > Watford 

Garcia ready for Hornets role

Last Updated: Tue, 02 Sep 2014 14:32
Watford

Oscar Garcia is relishing his latest "challenge" after agreeing to become the new boss of Watford.

The Spaniard is back in English football three months after quitting his role at the Hornets' Sky Bet Championship rivals Brighton.

Having guided the Seagulls into the play-offs during his one season in charge, Garcia now takes over a side sitting in second place despite the resignation of Beppe Sannino over the weekend.

The former Barcelona player, 41, was also linked with the vacant job at Leeds but wanted to join Watford's push for promotion to the Barclays Premier League.

Garcia wrote on Twitter: "Today a new challenge begins. I come back to England to help Watford achieve his (sic) goals. Thanks for the welcome!"

His first game in charge will be at Charlton a week on Saturday. He will take on his former employers Brighton at Vicarage Road on October 4.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Hornets lose top spot

Tue, 21 Oct 2014 21:51

Anya set for Hornets return

Mon, 20 Oct 2014 14:56

Hutchinson in Owls frame

Fri, 17 Oct 2014 09:18

Dyer unfazed by Hornets situation

Mon, 13 Oct 2014 12:14

McKinlay surprised by Hornets exit

Sun, 12 Oct 2014 10:56

Bassong makes Hornets switch

Wed, 08 Oct 2014 15:51

Jokanovic takes over at Watford

Tue, 07 Oct 2014 11:44

Hornets second after Seagulls draw

Sat, 04 Oct 2014 17:06

Five missing for Hornets

Fri, 03 Oct 2014 09:34

Hornets' focus praised by McKinlay

Tue, 30 Sep 2014 23:12
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010