Ainsworth settles for draw

Last Updated: Sat, 01 Mar 2014 19:23
Wycombe%20Wanderers

Wycombe boss Gareth Ainsworth was pleased to pick up a point in a 1-1 draw with Southend at Roots Hall.

The seventh-placed Shrimpers opened the scoring through Barry Corr yet the Chairboys left with a share of the spoils when Paris Cowan Hall's shot hit the crossbar before hitting Southend goalkeeper Daniel Bentley and rolling back in to the net.

"It's a very good point away from home because Southend is a tough place to come especially when they're itching for a win," said Ainsworth.

"We definitely had a bit of luck with the goal but sometimes you need that.

"I felt sorry for their keeper because he had an excellent game and he didn't deserve that but it's great for us."

"We dealt well with Southend's pressure and they were very direct when attacking, utilising Barry Corr's ability in the air.

"We struggled a bit near the end but we dug in and I'm proud of them because this is another good result which keeps this little run we're on going."

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Chairboys sign Lynch

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 15:03

Wycombe snap up Jacobson

Tue, 01 Jul 2014 16:27

Wanderers land Mr Versatile

Fri, 20 Jun 2014 17:32

New Chairboys deal for Morais

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 14:10

Chairboys start at Exiles

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:16

Capital trip for Chairboys in cup

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:42

Wycombe want Beav back

Wed, 11 Jun 2014 10:10

Captain agrees Chairboys deal

Mon, 09 Jun 2014 17:39

Bloomfield gets his reward

Wed, 04 Jun 2014 14:15

Authorities to probe Rovers' claims

Thu, 29 May 2014 16:29
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010