Wycombe hold Shrimpers

Last Updated: Sat, 01 Mar 2014 17:44
Wycombe%20Wanderers

Southend's winless streak was extended to nine matches following a 1-1 draw against Wycombe at Roots Hall.

The Shrimpers went in front after Barry Corr headed home a right-wing corner from Kevan Hurst. But Phil Brown's side were forced to settle for a frustrating share of the spoils when Paris Cowan-Hall's long-range shot struck the crossbar before hitting the back of goalkeeper Daniel Bentley and rolling in to the net.

Wycombe came closest to scoring in the first half when Anthony Stewart's header from Max Kretzschmar's right-wing corner was superbly saved by Bentley.

Corr then had an effort ruled out for offside before he nodded in his eighth goal of the season, converting Kevan Hurst's corner from the right in the 63rd minute of the match.

Seven minutes later, though, Wycombe had a fortuitous equaliser and the visitors nearly won it twice late on with substitute Dean Morgan having an effort tipped wide by Bentley before the same player struck the top of the crossbar right at the death.

Have you an opinion on this story? Put your money where your mouth is and claim a free £25 bet.

Related news

Millers duo sign for Chairboys

Thu, 31 Jul 2014 10:25

Chairboys sign Lynch

Wed, 02 Jul 2014 15:03

Wycombe snap up Jacobson

Tue, 01 Jul 2014 16:27

Wanderers land Mr Versatile

Fri, 20 Jun 2014 17:32

New Chairboys deal for Morais

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 14:10

Chairboys start at Exiles

Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:16

Capital trip for Chairboys in cup

Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:42

Wycombe want Beav back

Wed, 11 Jun 2014 10:10

Captain agrees Chairboys deal

Mon, 09 Jun 2014 17:39

Bloomfield gets his reward

Wed, 04 Jun 2014 14:15
 
© eatsleepsport.com 2010